✖ Close Social Content


Bernalillo County Board of Commissioners 

Email the Commissioners


NMSA 4-38-1


The Bernalillo County Board of Commissioners consists of five elected members who are each limited to two, four-year terms. Each commissioner represents one of the county’s five districts. Commissioners are responsible to voters; however their duties are defined and controlled by state law.

  • Serves as the County Canvassing Board (for elections), Board of Finance (for county funds) and Zoning Board (for zoning approvals, hearings and appeals).
  • Has final authority for county government budget.
  • Affirm property tax rates and has the power to levy special taxes (gross receipts, hospital tax, road levies, gasoline tax, liquor excise tax, and other).
  • Issues general obligation bonds after voter approval.
  • Determines county appropriations and expenditures.
  • Passes ordinances and resolutions (local laws).
  • Develops joint projects and agreements with other government entities.
  • Makes appointments to various boards and commissions.
  • Creates fire districts and levies fire protection tax.
  • Establishes zoning and business regulations.

Current Membership

Representing Name 
District 1 (Chair) Debbie O'Malley
District 2 (Vice Chair) Steven Michael Quezada
District 3  Maggie Hart Stebbins
District 4 Lonnie Talbert
District 5  Wayne Johnson


Julie Anne Baca, Commission Administrator, (505) 468-7083


Board of County Commissioners News

Search posts:

Browse posts by tags:

Please be advised that three or more Bernalillo County commissioners may be attending a news conference for the La Promesa Early Learning Center on Tuesday, Feb. 21, 2017 at 10 a.m. The event will take place at La Promesa Early Learning Center Charte... Read More

Please be advised that three or more Bernalillo County commissioners may be attending Bernalillo County Day at the New Mexico Legislature on Monday, Feb. 6, 2017 from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m.

This event will be held at the New Mexico State Capitol in Santa F... Read More

 Please be advised that three or more Bernalillo County commissioners may be attending the University of New Mexico Regents meeting on Tuesday, Nov. 15, 2016 at 1 p.m. The meeting will take place in the Bobo Room (3rd floor) of Hodgin Hall on th... Read More

Please be advised that three or more Bernalillo County commissioners may be attending a Greater Albuquerque Chamber of Commerce luncheon, Wednesday, Oct. 12, 2016 at noon. The luncheon will take place at the Crowne Plaza Hotel located at 1901 Univers... Read More

Bernalillo County is considering researching public-private partnerships as an option in its pursuit of a building facility that will consolidate its downtown offices and services. Two downtown buildings, Alvarado Square and the Galeria, have been ev... Read More


Please be advised that three Bernalillo County commissioners will be traveling to Washington D.C. to attend the 2016 National Association of Counties Legislative Conference. Each commissioner will be traveling separately, but may ... Read More

On Jan. 29, 2016,  Bernalillo County Commissioners Wayne Johnson and Maggie Hart Stebbins will be installed as honorary commanders of Kirtland Air Force Base.  Johnson and Hart Stebbins will join 39 other community leaders, who have been se... Read More

The Bernalillo County Board of Commissioners has approved a list of capital outlay priorities that the county is asking the New Mexico Legislature to fund during its 2016 session that begins in Santa Fe on Tuesday, Jan. 16.

Capital outlay funds are th... Read More

District 2 Commissioner Art De La Cruz is the new chair of the Bernalillo County Commission.

District 5 Commissioner Wayne Johnson is the new vice chair.

De La Cruz and Johnson will serve in their respective leadership capacities for the 2016 calendar ... Read More

The Bernalillo County Commission on Nov. 20 appointed Ken Martinez as Bernalillo County attorney in a 5-0 vote.

Current county attorney Randy Autio is retiring. His last day on the job is today.

“Mr. Martinez brings a wealth of litigation ex... Read More

The Bernalillo County Commission on Nov. 10, 2015 appointed Idalia Lechuga-Tena to fill a vacancy in state House District 21, located in Albuquerque’s Southeast Heights.

The commission voted 3-2 on the appointment. Commissioners Art De La Cruz, ... Read More

View All Events
  • Tonight, the Board of Commissioners unanimously approved the minimum wage cost of living increase from $8.65 per hour, to $8.70 per hour. This annually-calculated wage increase affects employees who ...

  • Public Notice: Please be advised that three or more Bernalillo County commissioners may be present at the burial ceremony for Bernalillo County unclaimed and indigent residents on Friday, Aug. 26, 2...

  • The Bernalillo County Commission on Aug. 25, 2015 strengthened and clarified the county’s Code of Conduct ordinance. The changes clarify political activity rules, making a distinction between coun...

Upcoming Events
  • Location:
    Albuquerque/Bernalillo County Government Center, One Civic Plaza NW, Joint Chambers, Concourse Level B

  • Please be advised that the Bernalillo County Labor Relations Board will meet on Friday, March 3, 2017 at 1 p.m.
    Albuquerque/Bernalillo County Government Center building, One Civic Plaza NW, Tenth (10th) Floor, county manager’s Conference Room B

  • The DWI Planning Council is meeting at 12:30p.m. on Thursday, March 9, 2017 at the Metropolitan Assessment and Treatment Services facility, 5901 Zuni Rd SE, Albuquerque, NM 87108.
    MATS Facility
    5901 Zuni Rd SE, Albuquerque, NM 87108

Powered by Real Time Solutions - Website Design & Document Management