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BERNALILLO COUNTY ASSESSOR 
 

Application for Head of Family Exemption--$2,000 
 

Parcel Number or Legal Description of Property:       
 
      

 
Owner’s Name:       

    
Situs or Address of Property:       

    
Daytime Phone Number: (   )       E-mail Address:       

    
By signing below, I certify that I am not claiming the head of family exemption in any other 
county in the State of New Mexico.* 
    
    

Signature of Assessed Owner  Date  
  

FOR OFFICAL USE ONLY 
    
Exemption Previously Claimed on UPC#:   

   
Removed:  Yes  No  
    
Received By:    Date:   

   
Updated By:  Date:   
 
*Section 7-38-17(G) of the law provides a penalty which states in part as follows: “any person intentionally 
claiming and receiving the benefit of an exemption to which they are not entitled is guilty of a misdemeanor and 
shall be punished by a fine of not more than one thousand dollars ($1000.00)” 
 
Pursuant to  NMSA 7-37-4 (D) 
As used in this section, “head of a family” means an individual New Mexico 
resident who is either: 

(1) a married person, but only one spouse in a household may qualify as a head of a family; 
(2) a widow or a widower; 
(3) a head of a household furnishing more than one-half the cost of support of any related person; 
(4) a single person, but only one person in a household my qualify as a head of family; or 
(5) a member of a condominium association or like entity who pays property tax through the association. 
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