Most Popular Pages

Most Popular Pages

Most Popular Pages

Most Popular Pages

Bernalillo County

Contact Information

One Civic Plaza, NW
Albuquerque, NM 87102

(505) 468-7000

(505) 462-9813

Monday – Friday
8 a.m. – 5 p.m.


View Staff Directory


Most Popular Pages

Most Popular Pages code goes here

Search Finance


MDC Offers Recruitment and Retention Incentives

Bernalillo County – The Metropolitan Detention Center (MDC) is offering new corrections officers a $2,000 first-year hiring incentive. New corrections officers receive a total of $2,000 upon the successful completion of the corrections officer academy and probationary period. Starting pay for a corrections officer with MDC is $18.00 per hour and increases to $18.90 upon completion of the academy.  Officers will receive an additional increase to $19.85 per hour upon completion of their one (1) year probationary period.

Applicants with prior corrections experience may qualify for a higher starting pay through MDC’s lateral entry program depending on experience and qualifications.

New longevity incentives have also been implemented to encourage current, more experienced staff members to continue working at MDC in the future.

The benefits associated with serving as a corrections officer with MDC include:

  • 25-year retirement
  • paid vacation
  • sick leave
  • and full medical and dental

For more information about these recruitment and retention incentives, click on the QR code below.

Or visit or contact a recruiter at or call 505-839-8999.

 # # #

About Bernalillo County
Bernalillo County is 1,160 square miles and is New Mexico’s most populous county with more than 676,000 residents. Bernalillo County government provides a wide range of public services to residents who live in Albuquerque, Los Ranchos and Tijeras and the 111,000 residents who live outside the village and city limits in the unincorporated areas of the county.  Bernalillo County employs approximately 2,500 people and has an annual operating budget and capital investments of more than $650 million. Elected officials include five county commissioners, assessor, clerk, probate judge, sheriff, and treasurer.