Bernalillo County Board of Commissioners 

Email the Commissioners


NMSA 4-38-1


The Bernalillo County Board of Commissioners consists of five elected members who are each limited to two, four-year terms. Each commissioner represents one of the county’s five districts. Commissioners are responsible to voters; however their duties are defined and controlled by state law.

  • Serves as the County Canvassing Board (for elections), Board of Finance (for county funds) and Zoning Board (for zoning approvals, hearings and appeals).
  • Has final authority for county government budget.
  • Affirm property tax rates and has the power to levy special taxes (gross receipts, hospital tax, road levies, gasoline tax, liquor excise tax, and other).
  • Issues general obligation bonds after voter approval.
  • Determines county appropriations and expenditures.
  • Passes ordinances and resolutions (local laws).
  • Develops joint projects and agreements with other government entities.
  • Makes appointments to various boards and commissions.
  • Creates fire districts and levies fire protection tax.
  • Establishes zoning and business regulations.

Current Membership

Representing Name 
District 1  Debbie O'Malley
District 2 Steven Michael Quezada - Vice Chair
District 3 Adriann Barboa
District 4 Walt Benson
District 5 Charlene Pyskoty - Chair


Julie Anne Baca, Commission Administrator, (505) 468-7083


Meeting Information
Bookmark and Share
(Updated Nov. 16, 2020)

Bookmark and Share
(Updated Aug. 27, 2020)

Bookmark and Share
(Updated Nov. 20, 2019)

Bookmark and Share
(Updated Nov. 1, 2018)

Bookmark and Share
(Updated Nov. 27, 2017)

Bookmark and Share
(As of Nov. 30, 2016)

Bookmark and Share

Bookmark and Share

County Commission Maps
Bookmark and Share

Bookmark and Share

Bookmark and Share

Bookmark and Share

Bookmark and Share

Bookmark and Share

Board of County Commissioners News

BernCo Commission Appoints Ken Martinez as Bernalillo County Attorney

9:20 AM

The Bernalillo County Commission on Nov. 20 appointed Ken Martinez as Bernalillo County attorney in a 5-0 vote.

Current county attorney Randy Autio is retiring. His last day on the job is today.

“Mr. Martinez brings a wealth of litigation experience and public policy expertise to Bernalillo County. We are fortunate to have him,” Commission Chair Maggie Hart Stebbins says. “I also want to thank Randy Autio for his many years of public service and the steady legal guidance he provided to Bernalillo County.”

Martinez’s appointment is subject to final contract negotiations and a background check. As part of the negotiations, the county will ask that Martinez not seek reelection to state House District 69. Martinez, a former state House Speaker, has represented District 69 in Western New Mexico since 1999. A Notre Dame graduate, he’s also worked in private practice at his law firm in Grants since 1984.

Eleven people applied for the county attorney position.

back to list
Powered by Real Time Solutions - Website Design & Document Management