Bernalillo County Board of Commissioners 

Email the Commissioners


NMSA 4-38-1


The Bernalillo County Board of Commissioners consists of five elected members who are each limited to two, four-year terms. Each commissioner represents one of the county’s five districts. Commissioners are responsible to voters; however their duties are defined and controlled by state law.

  • Serves as the County Canvassing Board (for elections), Board of Finance (for county funds) and Zoning Board (for zoning approvals, hearings and appeals).
  • Has final authority for county government budget.
  • Affirm property tax rates and has the power to levy special taxes (gross receipts, hospital tax, road levies, gasoline tax, liquor excise tax, and other).
  • Issues general obligation bonds after voter approval.
  • Determines county appropriations and expenditures.
  • Passes ordinances and resolutions (local laws).
  • Develops joint projects and agreements with other government entities.
  • Makes appointments to various boards and commissions.
  • Creates fire districts and levies fire protection tax.
  • Establishes zoning and business regulations.

Current Membership

Representing Name 
District 1  Debbie O'Malley
District 2 Steven Michael Quezada - Vice Chair
District 3 Adriann Barboa
District 4 Walt Benson
District 5 Charlene Pyskoty - Chair


Julie Anne Baca, Commission Administrator, (505) 468-7083


Meeting Information
Bookmark and Share
(Updated Nov. 16, 2020)

Bookmark and Share
(Updated Aug. 27, 2020)

Bookmark and Share
(Updated Nov. 20, 2019)

Bookmark and Share
(Updated Nov. 1, 2018)

Bookmark and Share
(Updated Nov. 27, 2017)

Bookmark and Share
(As of Nov. 30, 2016)

Bookmark and Share

Bookmark and Share

County Commission Maps
Bookmark and Share

Bookmark and Share

Bookmark and Share

Bookmark and Share

Bookmark and Share

Bookmark and Share

Board of County Commissioners News

Three or More Commissioner to Attend Various Upcoming Events

12:35 PM

Please be advised that three or more Bernalillo County commissioners may attend the following events:

  • The 11th Annual Blue Mass ceremony on Tuesday, Sept. 25, 2018 at noon. The ceremony will take place at St. Jude Thaddeus Catholic Church located at 5712 Paradise Blvd. NW, Albuquerque, NM 87120.
  • The Greater Albuquerque Chamber of Commerce meeting on Tuesday, Sept. 25, 2018 from 11 a.m. This meeting will take place at the Marriott Pyramid North located at 5151 San Francisco Rd. NE Albuquerque, NM 87109.
  • The Bernalillo County Indigent Burial Memorial ceremony on Thursday, Sept. 27, 2018 at 9:30 a.m. The ceremony will take place at the Fairview Cemetery located at 700 Yale Blvd. SE Albuquerque, NM 87106.
  • The Homeless Veterans’ Burial ceremony on Thursday, Oct. 4, 2018 at 8:30 a.m. The ceremony will start at Daniels Funeral home located at 1100 Coal Ave. SE Albuquerque, NM 87106 with the funeral procession leading to the Santa Fe National Cemetery located at 501 N. Guadalupe St. Santa Fe, NM 87501.

No action will be taken by the commissioners during these events.

back to list
Powered by Real Time Solutions - Website Design & Document Management