✖ Close Social Content


Bernalillo County Board of Commissioners 

Email the Commissioners


NMSA 4-38-1


The Bernalillo County Board of Commissioners consists of five elected members who are each limited to two, four-year terms. Each commissioner represents one of the county’s five districts. Commissioners are responsible to voters; however their duties are defined and controlled by state law.

  • Serves as the County Canvassing Board (for elections), Board of Finance (for county funds) and Zoning Board (for zoning approvals, hearings and appeals).
  • Has final authority for county government budget.
  • Affirm property tax rates and has the power to levy special taxes (gross receipts, hospital tax, road levies, gasoline tax, liquor excise tax, and other).
  • Issues general obligation bonds after voter approval.
  • Determines county appropriations and expenditures.
  • Passes ordinances and resolutions (local laws).
  • Develops joint projects and agreements with other government entities.
  • Makes appointments to various boards and commissions.
  • Creates fire districts and levies fire protection tax.
  • Establishes zoning and business regulations.

Current Membership

Representing Name 
District 1  Debbie O'Malley
District 2 Steven Michael Quezada
District 3 James Collie
District 4 (Chair) Lonnie Talbert
District 5 (Vice Chair) Charlene Pyskoty


Julie Anne Baca, Commission Administrator, (505) 468-7083


Board of County Commissioners News

BernCo Commission Appoints Idalia Lechuga-Tena to Fill House District 21 Vacancy

9:52 AM

The Bernalillo County Commission on Nov. 10, 2015 appointed Idalia Lechuga-Tena to fill a vacancy in state House District 21, located in Albuquerque’s Southeast Heights.

The commission voted 3-2 on the appointment. Commissioners Art De La Cruz, Wayne Johnson and Lonnie Talbert voted yes. Commissioners Maggie Hart Stebbins and Debbie O’Malley voted no.

The vacancy was created when former state Rep. Stephanie Maez resigned.

A map of District 21 is located here on the New Mexico Legislature’s website.

back to list
View All Events
Upcoming Events
Powered by Real Time Solutions - Website Design & Document Management