Bernalillo County Board of Commissioners 

Email the Commissioners


NMSA 4-38-1


The Bernalillo County Board of Commissioners consists of five elected members who are each limited to two, four-year terms. Each commissioner represents one of the county’s five districts. Commissioners are responsible to voters; however their duties are defined and controlled by state law.

  • Serves as the County Canvassing Board (for elections), Board of Finance (for county funds) and Zoning Board (for zoning approvals, hearings and appeals).
  • Has final authority for county government budget.
  • Affirm property tax rates and has the power to levy special taxes (gross receipts, hospital tax, road levies, gasoline tax, liquor excise tax, and other).
  • Issues general obligation bonds after voter approval.
  • Determines county appropriations and expenditures.
  • Passes ordinances and resolutions (local laws).
  • Develops joint projects and agreements with other government entities.
  • Makes appointments to various boards and commissions.
  • Creates fire districts and levies fire protection tax.
  • Establishes zoning and business regulations.

Current Membership

Representing Name 
District 1  Debbie O'Malley
District 2 Steven Michael Quezada - Vice Chair
District 3 Adriann Barboa
District 4 Walt Benson
District 5 Charlene Pyskoty - Chair


Julie Anne Baca, Commission Administrator, (505) 468-7083


Meeting Information
Bookmark and Share
(Updated Nov. 16, 2020)

Bookmark and Share
(Updated Aug. 27, 2020)

Bookmark and Share
(Updated Nov. 20, 2019)

Bookmark and Share
(Updated Nov. 1, 2018)

Bookmark and Share
(Updated Nov. 27, 2017)

Bookmark and Share
(As of Nov. 30, 2016)

Bookmark and Share

Bookmark and Share

County Commission Maps
Bookmark and Share

Bookmark and Share

Bookmark and Share

Bookmark and Share

Bookmark and Share

Bookmark and Share

Board of County Commissioners News

BernCo Commission Proclaims March 31, 2018, as Cesar Chavez Day

8:00 PM

At its March 27 administrative meeting, the Bernalillo County Board of Commissioners proclaimed March 31, 2018, as César Chávez Day and encouraged all Bernalillo County residents to serve the community in his name and live by his vision for equality and dignity through non-violence.

César Estrada Chávez was born on March 31, 1927, near Yuma, Arizona, and became one of the best known Latino-Americans activists of civil and workers’ rights. He is immortalized by the slogan of “Sí, se puede” (“Yes we can”) created during his 1972 fast.

The National Hispanic Cultural Center is hosting the 25th César Chávez Day Fiesta annual celebration on Saturday, April 7 at noon at the National Hispanic Cultural Center in honor of what would have been his 91st birthday. The fiesta will be preceded by the La Marcha de Justicia (march) starting at 10:30 a.m., also at the center.

Farmworkers at the time were subjected to undignified treatment, without proper food, water or facilities, and facing violence when resisting these conditions.

César Chávez dedicated himself to the cause of justice and representation for farmworkers. He directed the Community Service Organization, co-founded the National Farm Workers Association, and inspired the creation of Obreros Unidos, the Farm Labor Organizing Committee and the Texas Farm Workers Union elsewhere in the country.

His guidance, courage and firm adherence to non-violence has made him an inspiration for economic and social justice across the country, undertaking many spiritual fasts for his beliefs, promoting civil disobedience for change and unwavering in his support of workers’ rights against constant governmental interference.

back to list
Powered by Real Time Solutions - Website Design & Document Management