Bernalillo County Board of Commissioners 

Email the Commissioners


NMSA 4-38-1


The Bernalillo County Board of Commissioners consists of five elected members who are each limited to two, four-year terms. Each commissioner represents one of the county’s five districts. Commissioners are responsible to voters; however their duties are defined and controlled by state law.

  • Serves as the County Canvassing Board (for elections), Board of Finance (for county funds) and Zoning Board (for zoning approvals, hearings and appeals).
  • Has final authority for county government budget.
  • Affirm property tax rates and has the power to levy special taxes (gross receipts, hospital tax, road levies, gasoline tax, liquor excise tax, and other).
  • Issues general obligation bonds after voter approval.
  • Determines county appropriations and expenditures.
  • Passes ordinances and resolutions (local laws).
  • Develops joint projects and agreements with other government entities.
  • Makes appointments to various boards and commissions.
  • Creates fire districts and levies fire protection tax.
  • Establishes zoning and business regulations.

Current Membership

Representing Name 
District 1  Debbie O'Malley
District 2 Steven Michael Quezada - Vice Chair
District 3 Adriann Barboa
District 4 Walt Benson
District 5 Charlene Pyskoty - Chair


Julie Anne Baca, Commission Administrator, (505) 468-7083


Meeting Information
Bookmark and Share
(Updated Nov. 16, 2020)

Bookmark and Share
(Updated Aug. 27, 2020)

Bookmark and Share
(Updated Nov. 20, 2019)

Bookmark and Share
(Updated Nov. 1, 2018)

Bookmark and Share
(Updated Nov. 27, 2017)

Bookmark and Share
(As of Nov. 30, 2016)

Bookmark and Share

Bookmark and Share

County Commission Maps
Bookmark and Share

Bookmark and Share

Bookmark and Share

Bookmark and Share

Bookmark and Share

Bookmark and Share

Board of County Commissioners News

Two BernCo Commissioners Selected to Become Honorary Commanders at Kirtland Air Force Base

8:53 AM

On Jan. 29, 2016,  Bernalillo County Commissioners Wayne Johnson and Maggie Hart Stebbins will be installed as honorary commanders of Kirtland Air Force Base.  Johnson and Hart Stebbins will join 39 other community leaders, who have been selected for the prestigious two-year assignment.

The Air Force program connects distinguished community and elected leaders with base commanders in order to promote a better understanding between military and civilian communities.

Commissioners Johnson and Hart Stebbins will participate in quarterly activities and events associated with the base.  By their participation, honorary commanders will have a forum  that will encourage an exchange of ideas and experiences, which will strengthen the relationship between the community and Kirtland Air Force Base.

The induction ceremony will be held today, Friday, Jan. 29 at Kirtland Air Force Base.

back to list
Powered by Real Time Solutions - Website Design & Document Management