Bernalillo County

This is the official news archive for Bernalillo County. Here, you'll find news releases sent by the county,

including media contact information for each item.


Property Tax Payments Due April 10, 2021

10:12 AM

Bernalillo County – Bernalillo County Treasurer Nancy Bearce reminds property owners the due date for the second half 2020 and the delayed 2019 property tax bill is Wednesday, April 10, with payments delinquent after May 10. Payments may be paid online, deposited in a county drop box, or mailed and postmarked by May 10 to avoid any penalty and interest fees.

Last summer’s Special Legislative Session passed the COVID-19 Property Tax Relief (HB 6) that provided a tax payment delay for 2019 second half taxes. All eligible taxpayers, more than 5,000, were notified last August of the delay. These taxes are now due for payment no later than May 10. Any unpaid 2019 second half taxes after May 10, will be charged penalties and interest accrued from the original due date of May 10, 2020, per the tax relief bill. More COVID-19 Property Tax Relief FAQs:

“The county collects and sends taxes to public agencies such as the University of New Mexico Hospital, Central New Mexico Community College, Middle Rio Grande Conservancy District, Albuquerque Public Schools and the City of Albuquerque,” says Bernalillo County Treasurer Nancy Bearce. “The ability of these agencies to operate and plan depends upon the tax payments collected, especially given the unusual year we’ve had.”

In accordance with the county’s rules for public buildings during the coronavirus (COVID-19), the Treasurer’s Office remains closed for walk-in transactions. To speak to a customer service representative, call 505-468-7031. More information can be found at or email the Treasurer’s Office at

There are several ways to make this semi-annual payment.

  • Automatic Tax Bill Payment
  • Pay online
  • Mail to: Bernalillo County Treasurer, PO Box 27800 Albuquerque, NM 87125-7800
  • Drop boxes, painted blue and identified by Bernalillo County seal:

~Fifth and Marquette NW (map)
~Village of Tijeras Offices (map)                                 ~Westside Community Center (map)           
~Raymond G. Sanchez Community Center (map)       ~Paradise Hills Community Center (map)

  • Two Local credit unions (from April 1 – May 10)

First Financial Credit Union locations:                              Rio Grande Credit Union locations:

  • 601 Tijeras NW (map)                                                      ? 1201 San Pedro NE (map)
  • 2700 San Mateo Blvd NE (map)                                      ? 10001 Lomas NE (map)      
  • 1625 Rio Bravo SW (map)                                               ? 301 Rio Bravo SE (map)
  • 831 Juan Tabo NE (map)                                                 ? 1211 4th Street NW (map)
  • 6100 Coors NW (map)                                                     ? 485 Coors Blvd NW (map)
  • 10400 Academy RD NE (map)

To contact the Treasurer’s Office or information:
Phone: 505-468-7031
Investment Results:

The County Treasurer collects and distributes property taxes not just for Bernalillo County, but for most other local entities in our county, including City of Albuquerque, Albuquerque Public Schools, Central New Mexico Community College (CNM), University of New Mexico Hospital (UNMH), and the State of New Mexico.  Please see graph below.

                                                                                                                # # #

About Bernalillo County

Bernalillo County is 1,160 square miles and is New Mexico’s most populous county with more than 676,000 residents. Bernalillo County government provides a wide range of public services to residents who live in Albuquerque, Los Ranchos and Tijeras and the 111,000 residents who live outside the village and city limits in the unincorporated areas of the county.  Bernalillo County employs approximately 2,500 people and has an annual operating budget and capital investments of more than $650 million. Elected officials include five county commissioners, assessor, clerk, probate judge, sheriff, and treasurer.


back to list
Powered by Real Time Solutions - Website Design & Document Management