Bernalillo County

This is the official news archive for Bernalillo County. Here, you'll find news releases sent by the county,

including media contact information for each item.


BernCo to Demolish Old Jail - Lot to Become County Parking

5:30 PM

Bernalillo County – Bernalillo County commissioners approved the award of the demolition contract for the Regional Correctional Center to Guzman Construction Solutions.

The demolition of the old jail, at Fifth and Roma, will be completed using a controlled, non-explosive demotion process.

Based on Bernalillo County Fleet and Facilities Department evaluations, the costs of renovation, updates to building systems, and repurposing of the facility were not feasible due to the building’s age and condition.

“Following its use as a correctional center, the old jail had a good run at producing some revenues in other capacities,” says Bernalillo County Manager Julie Morgas Baca.  “But the revenue is not enough to sustain the building that has become dilapidated and in ill-repair.”

Once the building is removed, the lot will be leveled and 149 parking spaces will be created and used for county fleet vehicles.

Demolition and creation of the parking area is expected to begin in about 4 weeks and will take an estimated 10 months to complete at a cost of roughly $2.4 million.

The commission approved the contract on a 5 – 0 vote.


                                                                                                                    # # #


About Bernalillo County

Bernalillo County is 1,160 square miles and is New Mexico’s most populous county with more than 676,000 residents. Bernalillo County government provides a wide range of public services to residents who live in Albuquerque, Los Ranchos and Tijeras and the 111,000 residents who live outside the village and city limits in the unincorporated areas of the county.  Bernalillo County employs approximately 2,500 people and has an annual operating budget and capital investments of more than $650 million. Elected officials include five county commissioners, assessor, clerk, probate judge, sheriff, and treasurer. 

back to list
Powered by Real Time Solutions - Website Design & Document Management